Tuesday, June 27, 2017

MPP Cindy Forster - Welland

God in Heaven You have blessed us with gifted and talented leaders who bring with them a diversity of experience.  Our province is stronger because of them. We pray that You would strengthen Cindy as she gives herself to serving others. Grant her strength, health and great joy in her role as MPP and critic. We ask this in Jesus name. Amen.

A lifelong Welland resident, former Mayor, and Registered Nurse, Cindy Forster has been an activist in her community for two decades.
Cindy graduated from the Mack school of Nursing in 1973. While working as a staff nurse in the hospital sector in various programs, Cindy was a dedicated union activist with the Ontario Nurses’ Association (ONA). In 1990, Cindy joined the staff of ONA as a Labour Relations Officer representing registered nurses in all sectors of healthcare.
In 1994, Cindy became active in municipal politics. She served two terms as a municipal Councillor on Welland City Council. In 2000, she was elected Mayor for the City of Welland and, in 2006, was elected Welland’s representative to Niagara Regional Council. Cindy has sat on many boards and committees, including the boards of the local library, Hydro Commission, and Economic Development Corporation, as well as the community and social services and accessibility advisory committees, and was appointed as a member of the ALPHA Board. She has fought for worthy causes such as pay equity for women in the library and health sectors. As Vice Chair of Niagara Regional Housing for four years, she was involved in many new affordable housing initiatives for Niagara residents.
As a volunteer, she has been involved in many agencies, including Help a Child Smile, Hope Centre and Hope House, and AIDS Niagara.
She is currently the Member of Provincial Parliament for the Welland riding which includes Welland, Thorold, Port Colborne, Wainfleet, and west St. Catharines, and holds the role of critic for Municipal Affairs and Housing for Ontario’s New Democrats. She was also appointed as Deputy House Leader for the NDP caucus.

No comments:

Post a Comment